Established by the Association for Community Affiliated Plans (ACAP), the Sylvia B. Kelly Medical Scholarship for Health Equity will offer one $25,000 award to support a medical student who has a demonstrated interest in promoting health equity through reducing the Black maternal mortality gap.

To qualify for the Scholarship, the recipient must:

  • Be enrolled in an LCME-Accredited medical school in the United States;
  • Have demonstrated financial need;
  • Be completing his or her 4th year of medical school during the 2023-2024 academic year, with an anticipated graduation in Spring 2023.
  • Use the award toward tuition, fees, or repayment of debt for the same.

Additionally, the selected Scholar may be offered the opportunity to enter into a mentoring relationship with the chief medical officer of an ACAP-member plan.

The scholarship is administered by the National Medical Foundation (NMF), which has provided scholarships and support for underrepresented minority students in medicine and the health professions since 1946. NMF alumni serve tens of millions of patients every year.

To apply for the Sylvia B. Kelly Medical Scholarship, visit The deadline for applications is June 19, 2023.

The 2022 Sylvia B. Kelly Scholar: Deborah Fadoju, Ohio State University

About Sylvia B. Kelly
Sylvia B. Kelly, the award’s namesake, is President and CEO of Community Health Network of Connecticut, Inc., a Federally Qualified Health Center-sponsored Safety Net Health Plan. She has spent her career helping people with low incomes, especially people of color. Early in her career, she focused on economic development and low-income housing as an Urban Planner, assisting in the implementation of Section 8 programs throughout Indiana. She joined Community Health Network of Connecticut in February 2000; under her leadership, the organization has improved health outcomes and increased access to care while reducing costs through person-centered care management, use of innovative technology and data-driven analysis.